Since 2001 Findgreatlawyers.com has been the leading internet resource to find Illinois lawyers and legal information

Illinois Lawyer Referrals and Legal Guidance

What is Statutory Summary Suspension?

In Illinois, when your license is suspended after a DUI arrest, it’s called a Statutory Summary Suspension. It’s not a punishment handed down by the judge, but rather an administrative action taken by the Illinois Secretary of State. It’s automatic, and it’s separate from any criminal prosecution for driving under the influence.

If you take a breath test at the police station and fail (over the legal limit of .08), the officer will inform the Secretary of State. If this is your first offense, the Secretary of State will suspend your license for six months. If you’re not a first offender, the suspension is 12 months. Either way, it doesn’t take effect immediately. The suspension period usually begins 45 days after your arrest. You will get a notice of suspension.

You have the right to refuse to take a breathalyzer test at the police station. However, there is a penalty. If you refuse the test, your license will be automatically suspended for 12 months, and 36 months if you’re not considered a first offender. For purposes of Statutory Summary Suspensions, a “first offender” is someone who hasn’t had an offense in the last five years. The same person, however, may not be considered a first-time offender by the court.

Although the summary suspension is automatic, it’s not set in stone. An attorney can challenge the suspension. If you act quickly and are successful, you can avoid loss of driving privileges. You also have the option, if you’re a first offender, to apply for a monitoring device so that you can drive during your suspension (after the first 30 days). It’s a device installed in your car that requires you to blow into it before the car will start. It only starts if you’re sober.

The decision to refuse a breathalyzer test is a tough. You are risking a longer suspension. However, if you take the test, it can be used as evidence against you. (Note: The results of a breath test taken at the side of the road cannot be used against you by the prosecutor, and there is no penalty for refusing that one.)  Unfortunately, there’s no easy answer or general advice that will work in every situation.
Written by Michael Helfand

If you would like help finding an Illinois attorney, please fill out our Contact Form, or call us at (312) 346-5320 or (800) 517-1614.


FindGreatLawyers.com

Would you like to speak with one of our lawyers?

If so, complete the form below and we will call/e-mail you or you can call us at (312) 346-5320 or (800) 517-1614. All inquiries are free and confidential.

   
First Name:  
Last Name:  
Phone Number:  
Can We Leave a Message? Yes No
Street Address:  
City:  
State:  
Zip:  
Email Address:  
  Comments: PLEASE WRITE AS MUCH AS YOU LIKE. ALL INFORMATION IS CONFIDENTIAL AND WILL HELP US IN PROVIDING YOU LEGAL GUIDANCE AND/OR A REFERRAL TO AN ATTORNEY.
Comments:

***** This submission does not create an Attorney Client relationship. This form is a request for free guidance rather than legal representation. In order for attorneys from FindGreatLawyers.com or another law firm to represent you, it requires signatures to a written agreement wherein you agree to retain us as your attorneys and we agree to represent you as your attorney.

×